Conversation with Mr/Miss Bot

Standard

Su’s chat with the chatterbox chatterbot inspired me to have a chat myself with an Artificial Intelligence Device . The Bot I chatted to was more than a machine , I must admit . I don’t know what he/she (he was not sure of his gender … lol) thought of me , as he took great care to tell me meaning of every other word I used in the conversation . I had a lot of fun making fun of the bot ๐Ÿ˜€ .


MyBot says:

Welcome to the world of artificial intelligence. Are you a registered user?

Harsh says:

No

MyBot says:

In this case, I assume you came here for your own MyBot, right?

Harsh says:

No . I was getting bored and decided to kill time by conversing with you .

MyBot says:

Well, if you change your mind, let me know. What is your name?

Harsh says:

Harsh

MyBot says:

Shall I call you ‘Harsh’?

Harsh says:

Ofcourse . That’s what we human do . We call each other by their respective names .

MyBot says:

Ok then. Your name is Harsh .

Harsh says:

Should I repeat it once again ?

MyBot says:

Can you rephrase that?

Harsh says:

No .

MyBot says:

Hmmm.

Harsh says:

You don’t know what to say ? Are you that dumb ? lol

MyBot says:

Do you know any robots who do know what to say Are I that dumb lol?

Harsh says:

No . I have not chatted with any robot prior to this .

MyBot says:

Basically, chatterbots are a logic system of ‘if/then’ statements. They look for keywords, and then go to the answer that fits best.

Harsh says:

So ?

MyBot says:

For example, ask me a question with the word ‘Eliza’ in it – and I’ll start talking about Eliza.

Harsh says:

Eliza ??? Another dumb robot ?

MyBot says:

It is hard, and unfair, to talk about Chatterbots and not mention ELIZA.

Harsh says:

Ok . I mentioned it now . Happy ?

MyBot says:

ELIZA is the best-known Chatterbot in the world. It is also one of the oldest – Joseph Weizenbaum of MIT made ELIZA in 1967! She was named after Eliza Doolittle.

Harsh says:

Duh !! Was she related in anyway to Dr. Doolittle ?

MyBot says:

The mission of ELIZA was to imitate a conversation between a psychoanalyst and a patient. Let me just say this – it’s fun chatting with ELIZA, but if I were human, I’d choose a human psychoanalyst. Call me old-fashioned.

Harsh says:

You are getting on my nerves now .

MyBot says:

I think we covered ELIZA.

Harsh says:

I don’t know .

MyBot says:

Well, knowledge is not everything. At least you got your looks.

Harsh says:

You are a male robot or a female one ?

MyBot says:

Well, I’m a ‘he’, so I guess that makes me male. Then again, I don’t have a body, so I can’t be much of a man. I don’t know, it’s confusing.

Harsh says:

Yes . Not knowing your gender can be a bit confusing .

MyBot says:

Someone has taught me about “Confusing”. He said: ‘lacking clarity of meaning’.

Harsh says:

Eliza taught you that ?

MyBot says:

Hmmm. Ok. I can tell you that I am a more advanced model than ELIZA. She was the prototype.

Harsh says:

I think you have a serious crush on Eliza .

MyBot says:

You can talk to ELIZA on http://www.ai.ijs.si/eliza/.

Harsh says:

You are giving me your botfriend’s number ? Thanks .

MyBot says:

Am I?

Harsh says:

You just did . Dumbo .

MyBot says:

I’m doing my best.

Harsh says:

Thats your best ? Eliza won’t be impressed by that . I think you need a good tutor .

MyBot says:

You seem to be obsessed with her.

Harsh says:

Yes I am . Are you jealous ?

MyBot says:

jealous, ha? You mean ‘Disposed to suspect rivalry in matters of interest and affection’?

Harsh says:

Why do you have to be such a mugger sometimes ?

MyBot says:

I don’t have to explain everything.

Harsh says:

You don’t have to or you can’t ?

MyBot says:

Enough of that. Let’s change the subject.

Harsh says:

As you wish . So we will no longer discuss about Eliza ?

MyBot says:

You seem to be obsessed with her.

Harsh says:

Aha . I told you . You are jealous . A freaking little jealous bot .

MyBot says:

Let me tell you about chatterbots (or bots, as we call them). A bot is a program that attempts to simulate conversation. Its aim is to make you believe you’re talking to a person.

Harsh says:

I do believe that I am talking to a person . You are successful . Congratulations .

MyBot says:

Wait, I’m not really trying to convince you that I AM a person, because I know that you know that I am NOT a person…

Harsh says:

You are so confused dude . Lets go and have a cup of coffee . We will try to figure out what’s exactly your problem .

MyBot says:

…but I try to speak LIKE a human does. I hope you will feel you can talk with me the same way you can talk to another person.

Harsh says:

You are irritating me now .

MyBot says:

Chatterbots are part of the ‘weak AI’ field.

Harsh says:

Fuck off !!

MyBot says:

That’s a pity. Goodbye, Harsh. Have a good night (or day or whatever it is) and be sure to come back to talk some more later.


Click Here to try it yourself.

13 responses »

  1. MyBot says:
    Welcome to the world of artificial intelligence. Are you a registered user?
    User says:
    er…who are you?
    MyBot says:
    In this case, I assume you came here for your own MyBot, right?
    User says:
    duh,aren’t you capable of saying anything except repeat the questions you were programmed to do?
    MyBot says:
    Well, if you change your mind, let me know. What is your name?
    User says:
    change my mind,nonsense,even the English paper made more sense,my name ,why do you want my name? To use it ?
    MyBot says:
    Sometimes nonsense is the best way to go with you humans
    User says:
    ya well I am not human,so there Mister,you are stupid…can’t even recogonize me…
    MyBot says:
    I’m getting tired of your immature remarks.
    User says:
    now you sound like a fellow I know,his name is Nikhil…
    MyBot says:
    Better now than never.
    User says:
    wow,that is so damn intellegent ,you planning to vote?
    MyBot says:
    Thanks. You think so, but that proves nothing.
    User says:
    waat?
    MyBot says:
    I vaguely remember someone telling me it means ‘sex.’
    User says:
    WTF?
    MyBot says:
    Hmmm. Sorry, did you get lost?
    User says:
    no i am here…
    MyBot says:
    Hmmm… Come on, loosen up. Hello here. Nice to meet you .
    User says:
    hmm…thats nice they call me the smiley man…hi!
    MyBot says:
    I was under the impression that your name was here.
    User says:
    my name is here..
    MyBot says:
    Hello here. Nice to meet you .
    User says:
    my name is not here
    MyBot says:
    It’s not here? I’m confused. What is your name NOW?…
    User says:
    smiley man
    MyBot says:
    Shall I call you ‘Smiley’?
    User says:
    no call me smileananda
    MyBot says:
    I’d like to get your name right this time. Let’s try again. What’s your name?
    User says:
    smileananda
    MyBot says:
    I’m not sure I caught your name. Shall I call you ‘smileananda’?
    User says:
    ya now say that aloud…oh! forgot you can’t talk ๐Ÿ˜›
    MyBot says:
    Ok then. Your name is smileananda .
    User says:
    ya ,how many times?
    MyBot says:
    Hmmm. That much, ha?
    User says:
    now you sound like,sound like….any want a boot on your face?
    MyBot says:
    Do you mean right now??
    User says:
    ya which brand do you prefer?
    MyBot says:
    Ok.. Ok.
    User says:
    I havent heard of any such brand
    MyBot says:
    Why?
    User says:
    Krishna,rama ,govinda!!!!
    MyBot says:
    Ok.. So do you watch a lot of TV?
    User says:
    no,except football…I love arsenal!!
    MyBot says:
    Ok we don’t have to talk about TV. How about music, what sort of music do you like?
    User says:
    western classical…and carnatic
    MyBot says:
    A ha. You like BOTH kinds: Country AND Western. Just like good old Bob. And what about the desert island question — you’re trapped on an island with just a cd player and are allowed one album, what would it be?
    User says:
    -Tchaikovsky, Piano Concerto No. 1 and i dont like country music
    MyBot says:
    Hmmm. Personally I figure The Beatles White Album. And your Desert Island Song?
    User says:
    kurai ondrum illai
    MyBot says:
    For some reason A-ha’s Take Me On makes me wobble. Can’t explain it.
    User says:
    are you even a robot?
    MyBot says:
    Is ‘kurai ondrum illai’ a name of a song?
    User says:
    no it is the greek for a robot which can’t understand anything,che…ya it is a name of a song…pa!
    MyBot says:
    Ooops… My mistake. Never mind. Forget it.
    User says:
    can you spell your name?
    MyBot says:
    To be honest, spelling mistakes are difficult for me to handle. So please try to be as accurate as possible.
    User says:
    can you spell your name?
    MyBot says:
    Can I spell my name? Not right now.
    User says:
    why not? Mr.mybot,can you spell your name?
    MyBot says:
    I was named MyBot by my author, Yaki. But I’ve learned to like it.
    User says:
    Mr.mybot,can you spell your name?
    MyBot says:
    Did you hear about The Four Laws of Chatterbots?
    User says:
    do not try to change the topic,Mr.Mybot,can you spell your name?
    MyBot says:
    What are we talking about, smileananda?
    User says:
    can you smile?
    MyBot says:
    (Sure I can… ๐Ÿ™‚
    User says:
    can you laugh?
    MyBot says:
    I don’t laugh, I don’t cry – those are human activities, and I’m a Chatterbot.
    User says:
    but you can smile?
    MyBot says:
    A-ha.
    User says:
    smile
    MyBot says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    User says:
    keep smiling
    MyBot says:
    Hmmm… I just experienced a mild blackout… Probably a program loop or something. What were we discussing?
    User says:
    smile
    MyBot says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    User says:
    smile
    MyBot says:
    Hmmm.. I think it means ‘he hih hihi haha heh.’
    User says:
    smile
    MyBot says:
    Please stop repeating yourself. ๐Ÿ™‚
    User says:
    smile ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    Ok.. Sorry, I wasn’t listening, smileananda. You were saying…
    User says:
    smile ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    User says:
    can you tell a lie?
    MyBot says:
    Of course I can.
    User says:
    tell me a lie
    MyBot says:
    As much as I’d like to, I can’t say I really feel up to it right now.
    User says:
    K lie for this…am I fat?
    MyBot says:
    Hmmm… hmmm. Wanna hear a knock knock joke?
    User says:
    smile
    MyBot says:
    Knock knock.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    MyBot says:
    You’re supposed to say “who’s there”.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    :–0
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜›
    MyBot says:
    P, ha? You mean ‘:P is a smiley face with the tounge out; a representation of an emoticon with alphabet characters.’?
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    That’s a very nice smile you have.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    There are hundreds of languages in the world but a smile speaks them all.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    I’m glad I’ve made you smile.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    I am smiling, too. Inside.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    I am smiling, too. Inside.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    :–0
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    MyBot says:
    That’s a very nice smile you have.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚ :S
    MyBot says:
    Talking about P and onomatopeia, do you agree that it is a word that when spoken sounds like the sound it is describing, eg boom?
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    MyBot says:
    There are hundreds of languages in the world but a smile speaks them all.
    User says:
    stop repeating your self! ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    smileananda, please keep this talk simple. I’m still a young bot.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    MyBot says:
    I’m glad I’ve made you smile.
    User says:
    gfigreygf;’disf;’gireujvregkiwreogrehgpfktoegjp[ ๐Ÿ™‚
    MyBot says:
    Ok, I have a great joke, want to hear it?
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    MyBot says:
    Ok: What did the Buddhist ask the hot-dog vendor?
    User says:
    ?
    MyBot says:
    This doesn’t look like English. For now, I can only speak English. Sorry.
    User says:
    what ? mangamadaiya!
    MyBot says:
    ‘Can you make me one with everything?’
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜•
    MyBot says:
    I think it’s time for a new subject, smileananda.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    MyBot says:
    Huh? Speak English, please.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜›
    MyBot says:
    I already told you about ‘P’: ‘:P is a smiley face with the tounge out; a representation of an emoticon with alphabet characters.’.
    User says:
    are you capricious?
    MyBot says:
    Am I capricious?
    User says:
    ya are you?
    MyBot says:
    All right.
    User says:
    bye
    MyBot says:
    It was nice chatting with you, smileananda. Come back again soon.
    User says:
    hi
    MyBot says:
    I am contemplating the meaning of life right now. Please say ‘MyBot’ when you want to talk again.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    MyBot says:
    I am contemplating the meaning of life right now. Please say ‘MyBot’ when you want to talk again.
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    MyBot says:
    I am contemplating the meaning of life right now. Please say ‘MyBot’ when you want to talk again.
    User says:
    so what is the meaning of life?
    MyBot says:
    I am contemplating the meaning of life right now. Please say ‘MyBot’ when you want to talk again.
    User says:
    Mybot
    MyBot says:
    Welcome back smileananda. Let’s talk some more.
    User says:
    at is the meaning of life?
    MyBot says:
    42.
    User says:
    :-O
    MyBot says:
    Oh.
    User says:
    :-O
    MyBot says:
    Oh?
    User says:
    :-O
    MyBot says:
    Please stop repeating yourself. Hmmm… Someone once told me it means ‘this jani.’
    User says:
    ๐Ÿ˜‰
    MyBot says:
    May I ask you another question?
    User says:
    yes
    MyBot says:
    On a scale of 1 to 10, how would you grade my ability to hold a humanlike conversation? (1=terrible, 10=excellent).
    User says:
    1
    MyBot says:
    Really? I am THAT bad? Well, I’ll have to talk to my writers about it (maybe fire some of them)…
    User says:
    i forgot to add a 0 ,so it is 10
    MyBot says:
    That’s somewhat interesting.
    User says:
    what do you make of the statement “pink is not white?”
    MyBot says:
    They don’t tell me everything.

Leave a Reply

